Deserving Redskin Players Receive Pro Bowl Selections

Redskins' linebacker Brian Orakpo been selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl in place of San Francisco linebacker Ahmad Brooks.
The selection is the third of Orakpo’s career, including selections in his first two NFL seasons following the 2009 and 2010 campaigns. With Orakpo’s selection, the Redskins have had at least one linebacker selected to the Pro Bowl in each of the last five seasons, matching the team’s longest stretch since linebacker Chris Hanburger accounted for five consecutive selections from 1972-76.

Aloha Stadium, home to the  NFL Pro Bowl.

Orakpo joins Redskins' running back Alfred Morris who also was elected. Morris replaces Seattle running back Marshawn Lynch who is Super Bowl bound.
Morris becomes the first Redskins running back selected to the Pro Bowl since Clinton Portis in 2008, and his selection is the 11th by a Redskins running back since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger (three by Larry Brown, two each by Earnest Byner and Stephen Davis, and one each by Mike Thomas, Terry Allen and Clinton Portis).

This will be the second deserving honor for Morris this season, as he was also named the 2014 recipient of the Walter Peyton Man of the Year award.

Morris will receive a $1,000 donation for his designated charity, Change Starts Now. The charity, based in his hometown of Pensacola, Fla., serves the community by engaging individuals and groups in charitable, educational and religious activities that increase awareness and promote behavioral changes that have positive lifestyle impacts.  

Said Morris, “Anytime I get an opportunity to give back, I give back,” Morris said. “My heart for giving was shaped by others who gave to my family. I saw how selfless they were. It is not always about receiving, but giving, so every time they [the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation] have some type of event to give, I am always there.”
Completing the list for this season's Pro Bowl selection is the deserving Redskin tackle,  Trent Williams.   

No more room?

Not making the Pro Bowl roster, but just as deserving, is the trust worthy receiver Pierre Garcon.  Garcon broke former Redskin player Art Monk’s 29-year old franchise record for receptions in a single season, and led the league with 113 catches.

Guess three, per team, is the limit this year; or the powers that be don't recognize Pro Bowl talent when they see it.  You will recall it took London Fletcher almost his entire career before he was selected.
The annual contest of the NFL's best will take place Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.
 Other news out at Redskins Park.
The team has not only solidified its head coaching decision, hiring Jay Gruden, it has also released its selections in secondary coaches.  They are: 

Wide Receivers Coach, Ike Hilliard; Tight Ends Coach, Wes Phillips; Offensive Line Coach, Chris Foerster (returning); Defensive Coordinator, Jim Haslett (returning).; Outside Linebackers Coach, Brian Baker. 

The team promoted former Tight Ends Coach Sean McVay to Offensive Coordinator, and named Ben Kotwica as Special Teams Coordinator.

RG3 is still the team's franchise QB, we're told, and Redskins' tight end Jordan Reed has been named to the team's annual All-Rookie Team.

With Reed’s selection, the Redskins have now had 32 selections to the All-Rookie Team since 1975.



Man sentenced to 57 years in murder of Redskin's Sean Taylor