D.C. Mayor Vincent C. Gray to blow opening whistle to kick off Season 7
Vincent C. Gray, Mayor of the District of Columbia, will blow the opening whistle to kick off the seventh regular season of the DC Rollergirls this Saturday at the DC Armory. Saturday’s doubleheader features two-time defending champion Scare Force One vs. Majority Whips followed by Cherry Blossom Bombshells vs. DC DemonCats.
Scare Force One looks to continue its unbeaten streak from the previous season while the Majority Whips are out for redemption after a fourth-place league finish last year. In the second bout, the DC DemonCats are looking to avenge a 214-52 loss to the Cherry Blossom Bombshells from their last meeting.
Doors open at 3 p.m. and the action begins at 4 p.m. Tickets are $12 for ages 12 and up, $6 for children 6 to 11, and free for kids 5 and under. Tickets are available in advance at ticketmaster.com or at the door on bout day. Individuals with a valid military ID can purchase tickets for $10 at the door.
A member of the Women’s Flat Track Derby Association, the DC Rollergirls is made up of four teams and has been competing at the DC Armory since 2006. In addition to providing great family entertainment, the league raises money and awareness for several community-based organizations including My Sister's Place, Capital Area Food Bank, END7, DC Public Library, Bread for the City, and the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children. In Season Six, the league contributed more than $17,000 to its charity partners.
The DC Armory is easily accessible by Metrorail on the Blue and Orange lines (Stadium-Armory station) and numerous bus lines. On-site parking is also available.