President Obama Honors WNBA's Seattle Storm

A Storm at the White House. Honored by President Obama. Photo: CD Brown.

With a name like Storm, you'd expect this WNBA team to take out every team in it's path. The team boasts three winning seasons in a row, 2010 Coach of the Year honors for Brian Agler, and to top it all off, a championship ring. They also tied the record for the most regular-season wins, went undefeated at home, became the first team in WNBA history to go a perfect 7-0 in the playoffs on the way to the title.

President Obama honored the Seattle Storm this week during a ceremony in the Rose Garden of the White House.

On the team's success he said: "And this was no fluke. It was the result of true teamwork and unselfish play. When you meet these women, you can’t help but be struck by their humility. You ask them how they'd describe a champion, and they say things like “somebody that makes the people around them better.”

"Most of the team is humble, except for the team's Tanisha Wright, who, when asked that same question, said: Tanisha Wright", joked Obama.

Wright was the team's most improved player during the 08-09 season. Read her full bio here.

The Storm presented Obama with a championship ring designed by Blue Nile as well as an official Seattle Storm jersey: #10, not #44 as previous sports teams honored by President Obama at the White House. (See video here).

The Storm is the first all-female WNBA ownership group in American history to win a championship.

Coming off their visit to the White House on Wednesday, the Storm defeated Minnesota, 65-55.

They take on the Connecticut Sun today at 4:30 pm.

This year marks the WNBA's 15th season.

Photos: President vs. Storm. CD Brown.