WNBA Celebrates 15 Years!

2011 marks the 15th anniversary for the women's professional basketball league - the WNBA.

Here's a bit of WNBA history that we found on the WNBA website.

On April 24, 1996, women’s basketball announced “We Got Next” as the NBA Board of Governors approved the concept of a Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) to begin play in June 1997.

Since that day in 1996 there have been many firsts for the WNBA: Val Ackerman -- the first president of the WNBA; Sheryl Swoopes -- the first player signed to the WNBA; Cynthia Cooper -- the league’s first Most Valuable Player; the Houston Comets -- the first WNBA Champions; Lisa Leslie -- the first WNBA player to capture all three MVP awards (regular season, All-Star and Championship) in one season.

Leslie was the first woman to dunk in a WNBA game. Teammate Candice Parker followed suit a few years later, and Maya Moore after that.

The reigning WNBA Champs, the Seattle Storm, will probably get the best WNBA honor of the month as they will be guests at the White House where President Obama will welcome the reigning WNBA princesses.

In conjunction with this event, members of the team will participate in a service project with local area youth as well as hold a basketball clinic during their visit. The visit continues the tradition begun by President Obama of honoring sports teams for their efforts to give back to communities as well as for winning championships as part of their trip to Washington.

Many sports teams have been honored at the White House including the 2009 Super Bowl Champs New Orleans Saints, and the WNBA's Phoenix Mercury. Last month the president honored BCS champions, the Auburn Tigers, with Cam Newton.

It's always good to be recognized for achievement by the Commander in Chief.

Congrats to the Seattle Storm.


Cast your vote for the Post a Comment