Remember The Eagle Bank Bowl?

Bowl's Representatives Recognized For Community Service and Positive Impact

DC Council Chairman Vincent C. Gray, along with the members of the DC Council, presented EagleBank Bowl, Washington Convention and Sports Authority (WCSA) and title sponsor EagleBank representatives with a resolution recognizing the bowl and its partners for its community service and positive impact on the local, business and charitable communities in the Washington Metropolitan Area.

“The EagleBank Bowl is one of the most successful bowls in its fledging stages and the bowl has not only proved to be a great game but also a great week of events,” said Gray. “The bowl game has had a tremendous impact on the image of our city and will be a proud Washington tradition for many years to come. We ask that all D.C. residents support this wonderful effort and make 2010 the most successful event ever. I, for one, will do everything I can to make this game successful.”

In addition to citing the bowl for its positive economic and philanthropic impact, Chairman Gray noted that the bowl honors the men and women of the U.S. military, benefits the city’s youth football programs and encourages economic activity across the region.

Representatives on hand for the presentation included the WCSA: Greg O’Dell, President and CEO, Bill Hall, Chairman of the Sports Committee and Erik Moses, Senior Vice President; EagleBank: Ron Paul, Chairman and Bob Pincus, Vice Chairman; and the DC Bowl Committee: Steve Beck, Executive Director and Marie Rudolph, Co-founder and Director of Teams and Special Events.

“We thank the DC Council for this show of support and for all that they have contributed to making this game a truly great event,” said O’Dell. “The EagleBank Bowl is for the community and the WCSA, along with the bowl committee and EagleBank, will continue to work hard to showcase great college football in Washington, D.C.”

UCLA shut down Temple in the second half for a 30-21 victory Tuesday in the EagleBank Bowl on December 29, 2009.