Pigskin Club 72nd Annual Awards

Honoring Democracy In Sports

Since the first meeting, the Pigskin Club has become one of the leading and influential sports organizations in the Nation. Founded by Charles B. Fisher in 1938, the Club became a rallying point for college lettermen, coaches and citizens interested in clean sports and fair play. At many of the organizations's luncheons and dinner meetings, high school athletes have been given achievement awards, and last weekend's awards program was no exception.

Hosted by Glenn Harris of News Channel 8 Sports Talk, the annual awards program honored the brightest in high school football that included the likes of Ricky Dobbs (US Naval Academy), Chase Williams (Loudon County HS), Ricardo Young (HD Woodson), Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska), Willie Slater (SIAC Coach of the Year/Tuskegee University).

Also honored were professional NFL players Brian Orakpo (Washington Redskins), Ray Rice (Baltimore Ravens), and Tara Stephenson and Jay Hodge (DC Divas Womens Football), all winners of the Outstanding Professional Athletes of the Year award.

Mose Ware (Ballou High School) won the head football Coach of the Year award.

In attendance were former inductees Brig Owens and Bobby Mitchell (2007 inductees). Previous inductees have included Dave Bing, and Doug Williams (2009); Billy Coward, Darrell Green, Charley Taylor (2008); Fritz Pollard and Frank Dunn (2006); Sam Lacey, John Posey, William 'Stud' Greene (2004).

For the complete list of 2010 honorees, click here.

The program also paid tribute to Frank Bolden, the man who dedicated his life to being a positive force in the lives of thousands of young people in the metro area.

Photo: Pigskin Club president Lucille Hester and Redskins' Bruce Allen shake guests hands; Awardee Marcus Coker, Brian Laitia, Tara Stephenson and Jay Hodge; Brig Owens poses with Glen Harris and Bobby Mitchell. More photos here.

The Washington Redskins named Kyle Shanahan offensive coordinator, Matt LaFleur quarterbacks coach and Jon Embree tight ends coach. Earlier this month the Redskins named Lou Spanos as their linebackers coach and retained Kirk Olivadotti as defensive assistant.